Pound 4 Pound Boxing Report

Talking all things boxing!

I Normally Don’t Do This But…

 

BrotherJR

December 4, 2016

Normally I don’t write blog post railing against the outcome of a particular fight. In fact I usually save that venom for my live show/podcast. However, this time I’m making an exception. Yesterday I took time out to watch Billy Joe Saunder’s first defense of the WBO Middleweight title against Artur Akavov at the Paisley Lagoon Centre in Glaskow, Scotland. And quite frankly there’s no way I believe Billy Joe Saunders (24-0, 12 KO’s) won this fight in spite of the judges giving the verdict to him by unanimous decision (116-113, 116-112, 115-112). Akavov (16-2, 7 KO’s) took the fight to Saunders early on and didn’t let up. Akavov was the faster and fresher fighter throughout while the defending champion looked slow, lethargic, uninspired and not in top physical condition. Saunders had his moments in the middle rounds, but Akavov closed the fight strong to gain the verdict in my opinion. Saunders even admitted after the fight that his performance was pathetic!

In light of the cries of robbery by many following Andre Ward’s win over Sergey Kovalev two weeks ago in Las Vegas, the argument can be made that Saunders decision win over Akavov yesterday was a bigger “robbery” than #KovalevWard ever was. I could talk, talk, talk about how bad this decision was in my estimation, but I’ve decided to share the whole fight and let you be the judge for yourself. With that being said here’s the Saunders – Akavov fight in its entirety and you can decide for yourself who really won. I would love to hear your feedback in the comments sections with your analysis of this fight.

December 4, 2016 - Posted by | Video | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

